News Radio WOAI KTKR AM Sports
SpursReport.com

Go Back   SpursReport.com > SpursReport Fan Forums > Spurs and NBA Fan Feedback

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-05, 10:06 AM
There is only 1 Ginobili!

Manu Ginobili is the league's most excting player.

http://www.oregonlive.com/sports/ore...l=7&thispage=5

Quote:
"It is hard for me," he said. "I was a head coach so long and it is hard for me to sit back and let a lot of things happen. Not many head couches could tolerate me. I think the game should be played a certain way and I don't hold back from expressing myself."

He said Jordan welcomed coaching, but other superstars turn a deaf ear. Of all the stars, Winter said O'Neal was the least receptive.

"He doesn't want to hear it," Winter said of O'Neal. "He is not the least bit interested but he could be so much better."

Winter said Pippen was the fastest learner he ever coac

"He just has a natural grasp of the game."

And if he were to list his favorite players, Steve Kerr would top a list that includes Craig Hodges and John Paxson.

Winter spent last season watching three NBA games a night at his home in West Salem. He loved watching the Suns run the break. He said Manu Ginobili is the league's most exciting player and that Dwyane Wade is the best all-around guard.

"He reminds me a lot of Jordan," he said.

Winter's frame of reference is shaped by decades and decades in the game. With 59 years in the business, Winter has coached 10 years longer than even the legendary Allen. He has played for and coached Hall of Famers and will again next season.

And if Tex Winter isn't installed with them in the Hall of Fame one day soon, they should pack up the peach baskets in Springfield.

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 08-08-05, 10:16 AM
SpursReport Team Member