News Radio WOAI KTKR AM Sports
SpursReport.com

Go Back   SpursReport.com > SpursReport Fan Forums > Spurs and NBA Fan Feedback

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-14, 01:35 AM
SpursReport Team Veteran

Will Mills' Shoulder Injury Become an Issue?

I've noticed that Patti Mills has been wearing some tape on his right shoulder for quite a few games.

Then I saw this video footage from the locker room that has me a bit concerned.

Anyone know what happened or what the injury is?

Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 04-14-14, 09:10 AM
SpursReport Team Member

*disclaimer: I'm not a doctor.
*second disclaimer: I'm only attempting to provide a perspective. NOT a diagnosis

But I am currently in PT for shoulder impingement syndrome, which I happened to get from playing too much competitive (club-level) tennis each week. It's in my non-dominant, left shoulder, and is probably the result of frequently swinging hard, and brushing up on a two-handed backhand, with non-ideal technique. My condition particularly affects overhead arm movements. I'm told that I can continue to play through it as long as symptoms don't worsen.

What I have learned:
1. The shoulder, like the entire human body, is ultra-complex
2. Muscles, tendons and joints can become inflamed through repetitive-use (after all, you wouldn't redline your car engine for 30 minutes at a time!)
3. The body (tissue) WILL heal through rest, cooling (ice), heat(!), stimulation, circulation, massage, strengthening, stretching and other treatments. I've improved a lot after 2 weeks (1PT session per week)
4. It is possible to play through many minor cases of inflammation.
5. Patty Mills is a star from down under and I'm so happy that he is a Spur
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Old 04-14-14, 10:02 AM
SpursReport Team Starter

Hasn't seemed like an issue so far the dude is cold-blooded.
Old 04-14-14, 10:03 AM