News Radio WOAI KTKR AM Sports
SpursReport.com

Go Back   SpursReport.com > SpursReport Fan Forums > Spurs and NBA Fan Feedback

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-28-12, 02:26 PM
alh1020's Avatar
SR Team Goof
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Right here
Posts: 5,147
Huh?!? Kevin Love, DeMarcus Cousins called for a block and a charge on the same play



alh1020: Huh is the first response I had when I saw the story caption. But after reading the explanation and rule cited below, it makes sense. Strange we haven't seen more of this in games. My opinion is it looked like Love had already established position but from Cousins prespective, looks like he just brushed Love (not head-on) and a no call would suffice as well.

This was an odd play to say the least, but one that ultimately resulted in the officials doing the right thing.

With 8:57 to play in the third quarter of Tuesday night’s game between the Kings and the Timberwolves, DeMarcus Cousins came down the lane and collided with Kevin Love on his way to attempting a shot. The baseline official, seeing the play from Love’s vantage point, saw it as a charge, but the outside official looking at it from Cousins’ perspective ruled it as a blocking violation.

It looked to me as if Love was there in plenty of time and was planted outside the restricted area, but these are 50-50 plays that happen multiple times per game, and in a split-second when the decision needs to be made, it’s usually easy to make an argument that the call could go either way.

In this case, with both officials having what they believed was the proper angle to make the call, and with neither wavering on their initial decision in the slightest, the conclusion was to assess a double-foul, and to jump the ball up at center court to determine possession.

If this seems strange, that’s because it is. Normally one referee can persuade the other that his call was the correct one, and a decision between the three officials can be made in favor of one team or the other. In the rare instance that an agreement can’t be reached, as was the case on this particular play, the officials are to do exactly what they did in Sacramento.

Rob Mahoney of SI.com dug up the passage in the NBA rule book that applies to these situations:
RULE NO. 12—FOULS AND PENALTIES
Section VI—Double Fouls
f. If a double foul occurs as a result of a difference in opinion by the officials, no points can be scored and play shall resume with a jump ball at the center circle between any two opponents in the game at that time. No substitute may participate in the jump ball.
It was a strange call to be sure, and one that we’re not likely to see all that often — especially in block-charge situations, where a two-thirds majority decision between the officials can almost always be reached.
__________________
Theres a band called 1023MB. They havent had any gigs yet.
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.7.4 Copyright © 2000-2008 Jelsoft Enterprises Limited.

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0