Huh?!? Kevin Love, DeMarcus Cousins called for a block and a charge on the same play
<iframe src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/MXORoQjC_FM" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="443" width="590"></iframe>
alh1020: Huh is the first response I had when I saw the story caption. But after reading the explanation and rule cited below, it makes sense. Strange we haven't seen more of this in games. My opinion is it looked like Love had already established position but from Cousins prespective, looks like he just brushed Love (not head-on) and a no call would suffice as well.
This was an odd play to say the least, but one that ultimately resulted in the officials doing the right thing.
With 8:57 to play in the third quarter of Tuesday nightís game between the Kings and the Timberwolves, DeMarcus Cousins came down the lane and collided with Kevin Love on his way to attempting a shot. The baseline official, seeing the play from Loveís vantage point, saw it as a charge, but the outside official looking at it from Cousinsí perspective ruled it as a blocking violation.
It looked to me as if Love was there in plenty of time and was planted outside the restricted area, but these are 50-50 plays that happen multiple times per game, and in a split-second when the decision needs to be made, itís usually easy to make an argument that the call could go either way.
In this case, with both officials having what they believed was the proper angle to make the call, and with neither wavering on their initial decision in the slightest, the conclusion was to assess a double-foul, and to jump the ball up at center court to determine possession.
If this seems strange, thatís because it is. Normally one referee can persuade the other that his call was the correct one, and a decision between the three officials can be made in favor of one team or the other. In the rare instance that an agreement canít be reached, as was the case on this particular play, the officials are to do exactly what they did in Sacramento.
Rob Mahoney of SI.com dug up the passage in the NBA rule book that applies to these situations:
RULE NO. 12óFOULS AND PENALTIESIt was a strange call to be sure, and one that weíre not likely to see all that often ó especially in block-charge situations, where a two-thirds majority decision between the officials can almost always be reached.
|All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 PM.|
Powered by vBulletin Version 3.7.4