News Radio WOAI KTKR AM Sports
SpursReport.com

Go Back   SpursReport.com > SpursReport Fan Forums > Spurs and NBA Fan Feedback

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-12, 12:05 AM
SpursReport Team Starter

Popovich, Buford, and the Spurs Dynasty

This is going to be a very long post. It's an "essay", if you will, that I've been working on for the last few weeks.

A bit of personal info: I have college degrees in electrical engineering and materials science, I've studied quite a bit of statistics, mathematics, computer programming, and quantum physics,
and I currently work as an electrical engineer. I only say this to hopefully lend credibility to my discussion of statistics.

I believe that the San Antonio Spurs are a true dynasty, and that it is due to the genius of Greg Popovich and RC Buford, and their system of building a basketball team.

And here's why.

In physics and mathematics there's a very important principle called the Law of Large Numbers. Those of you who have studied economics probably are aware of it also.
In simple terms, it states that the laws of averages only have significance, or are only truly revealed, in very large sample sizes.

A lot of practical physics and engineering takes advantage of this principle. For example, there's a thing called a quantum tunneling junction, that makes up semiconductor components that
are part of flat screen TVs and other devices. In this, there is a 1 in 1-billion chance that an electron can travel past the junction, to complete an electrical circuit.
This might seem totally useless, until we decide to send trillions of electrons per second at this junction. Then the law of large numbers kicks in, and suddenly we have millions of electrons per second,
each with a tiny individual chance of working, actually completing an electrical circuit, and our TV works!