View Single Post
  #23  
Old 06-19-06, 02:59 PM
SAScrub's Avatar
SAScrub SAScrub is offline
SpursReport Team Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Damn I am sleepy.
Posts: 656

Quote:
Originally Posted by To be named later
Quote:
Quote : RULE NO. 8-OUT-OF-BOUNDS AND THROW-IN

Section I-Player The player is out-of-bounds when he touches the floor or any object on or outside a boundary. For location of a player in the air, his position is that from which he last touched the floor.

This is on the same page as the exception rule, it just got

His position was in the frontcourt since "his position is that from which he last touched the floor".

So when he touched down in the backcourt, it was an over&back violation.

Wade might as well have caught the ball at the free throw line and walked it across the midcourt line, same thing.
The rule you've posted is in reference to the out of bounds line. Out of bounds plays/rules are different than the backcourt violation rules. If a player jumps in from out of bounds and touches the ball before he touches the legal playing area, the ball is out of bounds.

The rule I posted was specific to backcourt situations and says the player must have the ball and establish position.

Eh...I guess it doesn't matter much now, but it's fun to discuss.
Reply With Quote